Pesto Pasta

What a great colorful summer dish! I happen to be “in love” with my food processor 😉 and enjoy making my own pesto’s, sauces, etc … So, I decided to make a my own spinach pesto with penne pasta and  shrimp. To make the pesto you will need ingredients below
Ingredients
Baby Spinach
Parmigiano-Reggiano
Pine Nuts
Olive Oil
Garlic
Salt & Pepper
Now, I don’t have exact measurements to give you because I do my pesto according to taste. I keep adding ingredients until I can’t stop licking the spoon! I add a handful of baby spinach, toasted pine nuts, parmigiano-reggiano (it has a real nutty flavor), drizzle in olive oil, a clove of garlic, salt & pepper and chop all together until I get the flavor and texture I like. In mean time boil penne pasta until tender. Saute mushrooms slightly in olive oil (for the mushrooms I like them to keep their shape & original texture) set aside. Saute shrimp (season w/ salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic salt, & red pepper flakes) set aside. Lightly brown a few pine nuts to top finished dish. Cut red baby tomatoes in half. Drain penne and toss pesto in bowl, add mushrooms, shrimp, tomatoes, pine nuts, and freshly grated parmigiano-reggiano. Mangia! Mangia!

Leave a comment

Filed under Yummy Eats

Leave a Reply

